15 Things Every Tequila Aficionado Needs to Know

Featured in Town & Country Magazine, 6/5/2018 issue

Read the full article click here
1. Tequila has an appellation of origin. Like champagne, cognac, and some fine wines, tequila can only be produced in five regions in Mexico.

2. It must be made from the blue agave plant.

3. Only the agave heart is used to make tequila.

4. It's technically a mezcal. But not all mezcals are tequila. That's because any spirit distilled from the agave plant is considered mezcal, but tequila can come from the blue agave variation.

5. The majestic agave plant is not a cactus. The agave plant actually belongs to the Agavoideae family, which is closely related to the lily plant. In Latin, agave means illustrious, admirable, and noble.

6. Tequila drinkers in Mexico typically sip their drink. A common practice in the U.S. is to take a shot with lime and salt while those in Mexico opt to savor their tequila.

7. There's a specific type of tequila that won't leave you feeling hungover. The game changer: Blanco tequila, which is left in its purest form, doesn't contain any of the corn syrup or added sugar that's often linked to post-party regret.

8. Tequila pairings are a thing. The spirit has inspired many of the world's top chefs and most discerning palates to create extraordinary food pairings.

9. As with wine, terroir can influence the taste of tequila. Casa Dragones agaves are harvested in the rich agricultural lands of the Trans-Mexican Volcanic Belt, where the mineral-rich soil produces sweet blue agaves, according to, the tequila brand's CEO and co-founder.

10. The agave harvest is a labor of love. Agave azul tequilana weber, or blue agave, plants take between 8 and 12 years to harvest.

11. Mexico's magnificent agave landscape is recognized as a World Heritage site by UNESCO.

12. Before you taste tequila, use your nose. The Mexican Academy of Tequila Tasters has identified more than 600 aromas in tequila.

13. There are five official classifications of tequila. They are: Blanco, Joven, Reposado, Añejo, and Extra Añejo, from youngest to oldest.

14. Tequila has tasting notes, but not like wine. In the case of Casa Dragones, the brand collaborated the Mexican Academy of Tequila Tasters to define its unique tasting notes, which include notes of vanilla and spiced undertones for Casa Dragones Joven, and semi-sweet notes of agave warmed by hints of pepper and cloves for Casa Dragones Blanco.

15. Tequila is finished with 60 percent water.